THE players' achievement in finishing runners-up in the Welsh Premier League was finally recognised at the club's annual awards night.

Director of football Andy Preece had complained earlier this year that, while the champions and Europa League play-off winners received trophies or medals, there was no recognition for the second-placed finishers.

But league secretary Gwyn Derfel was on hand at the St David's Hotel to rectify matters and present runners-up medals to the squad.

Captain Ian Kearney scooped two awards - manager's player of the season and supporters' player of the year.

Preece said that, while Kearney had rightly been included in the Welsh Premier team of the season, he was surprised that he was not also one of the nominees for the player of the season award.

But Kearney missed out on a hat-trick of awards, finishing second to fellow defender Mike Pearson in the players' player of the season vote.

Aaron Hassall, who became one of the youngest-ever scorers in the top flight, was voted young player of the year and was also the Under-19 coaches' choice as player of the season.

Steve Jones's goal against Newtown as voted goal of the season while Chris Budrys picked-up the top scorers' trophy. 

Pictures (above) the players with Welsh Premier League secretary Gwyn Derfel and (below) double award winner Ian Kearney.