AIRBUS crashed out of the Welsh Cup at the first hurdle as they lost 4-1 away to Welsh League Division One outfit Penybont.

It was revenge for the home side, who lost out in Broughton at the same stage three seasons ago, and leaves the Wingmakers without a win in any competition since late September.

The home side forged two goals ahead inside the first 20 minutes. Jake Hulley was caught in possession on the edge of the box by Joe Hopkins, who set-up Marcus Griffiths for an easy finish. Moments later, Ioan Emanuel crossed for Griffiths to get in a header which was superbly saved by Ryan Neild while, at the other end, Ryan Wignall had a penalty claim when he was brought down as he ran into the box.

But, not for the first time this season, the Wingmakers paid the price for trying to play out from the back when Hulley's attempted clearance was charged down by Hopkins, who again set-up Griffiths to bag his second.

Airbus responded immediately when Wignall provided the pass for Ryan Fraughan to reduce the arrears with an excellent strike from 18 yards and were then denied an equaliser by home keeper Rhys Wilson, who made a point blank fingertip save from Liam O'Neill's header.

Fraughan sent a shot agonisingly wide of the far post from Wignall's pass after the break but fell further behind when Kane Owen's free-kick was headed home by player/manager and former Welsh Premier marksman Rhys Griffiths

O'Neill was against denied by Wilson with a diving save and Wignall skied his shot after a surging run to the edge of the box but, two minutes from time, the hosts heaped more misery on Airbus when ex-Llanelli midfielder Owain Warlow played a one-two before firing past Neild.

"We gave them the game within the first 20 minutes and that's just down to personnel at the moment," said manager Andy Thomas. "We've just got five game to get through until January and there will be massive changes."

Pen-y-bont Rhys Wilson, Ioan Emanuel, Kane Owen, Kieran Howard, James Parry, Rhys Griffiths, Owain Warlow (Connor Goldsworthy), Cullen Kinsella, Billy Borge (Adam Carpenter), Marcus Griffiths (Kurt Thornbury), Joe Hopkins.
Subs not used: Aaron Jones, Tom Atyeo.
Goals: Marcus Griffiths 12′ 18′ Rhys Griffiths 55′ Owain Warlow 88′

Airbus UK Ryan Neild, Rhys Hewitt (Zebb Edwards), Jonny Spittle, Jake Hulley, Bailey Jackson, Ryan Wignall, Ashley Williams, Ryan Edwards, Jamie Menagh (Kevin Monteiro), Ryan Fraughan (James Murphy), Liam O’Neill.
Subs not used: Chris Doran, Dominic Doherty.
Goal: Ryan Fraughan 21′

Photos courtesy Lewis Mitchell.